Created by Compass Business Services Ltd - April 2020

Abdie Curling Club


“Abdie man saves Europe”

See Club History Page


Office Bearers

President: Stewart Todd

Vice President: Randy Wallace

Secretary: John McCallum

Treasurer: Alistair Robinson

Skips: Andy Messenger, Stewart Todd, Alistair Robinson, Duncan Downie

Club Archivist: Gerry Watson

Webmaster: Ron Robertson

Co-opted: Willie Monks

Honorary Members: John Arbuckle and Jim Stirrat

Members, Rinks and News

Abdie is always looking for new members, from highly skilled internationals to novice curlers new to the sport. All will be welcome. Get in touch with us through this website on the Contact page.

Abdie Winners of Cupar Province Bonspiel, Lindores Loch, 18th February 1930

New Member

Abdie Curling Club welcomes Dougie Cleeton, formally of Bruntsfield Golfing Society, who has recently joined Abdie Curling Club. Dougie, who was formally the Secretary at Rosemeount Golf Club, lives in Abernethy so he no longer has such a long journey home after a match.

Rinks - Season 2019 -2020

Rink 1 - Stewart Todd, John Brewster, Gordon Craig, Stewart Cranston, Chris Farmer, Kevin Fearn, Alex Hogg, Willie Monks, Willie Thomson.

Rink 2 - Andy Messenger, John Arbuckle, Dave Balfour, Rog Horner, Stuart Roxburgh, Andrew Sinclair, George Thomson, Randy Wallace.

Rink 3 - Alistair Robinson, Lars Christiansen, Pete Emslie, Dave Holland-Smith, Ken Loades, Ron Robertson, Stuart Robertson, Rob Watson.

Rink 4 – Duncan Downie, Scott Baird, Paul Cromey, John Hamilton, Craig Haxton, John McCallum, Jim Mackie, Keith Rose, Gerry Watson.

Go to top of Page

Earlier News Pages In PDF format:

Earlier News - April 2020

Earlier News - October 2019

Earlier News - March 2019

Earlier News - December 2018

Earlier News - November 2018

Earlier News - May 2018

Earlier News - March 2018

Earlier News - August 2017

Earlier News - May 2017

Earlier News - April 2017

Earlier News - March 2017

Earlier News - January 2017

Earlier News - December 2016

Abdie having a good season

Cupar Province Bonspiel 12 shots

Cupar Province Cup 23-10

District Medal   

Great win against Dunfermline in the District Medal. Abdie played well; both rinks won 8-5 and 7-3. A good scalp for Abdie, beating this big club. Abdie rinks were Scott Baird, Willie Monks, Ken Loades, Alistair Robinson and Andy Messenger, Willie Thomson, Keith Rose and Stuart Cranston.

Rippon Trophy

Abdie came third and overcame Stratheden in first round but we were beaten by Falkland in the second. In the third round Abdie won the “Most points up” category when beating Crawford Priory.  

Magnus Doull Trophy

In early January, Abdie regained the Magnus Doull Trophy from Stratheden winning 10-2 and 10-1.